• Claudia's Digest
  • Posts
  • ✍️ TWW #007: How To Deal With Imposter Syndrome The Way No One Told You About

✍️ TWW #007: How To Deal With Imposter Syndrome The Way No One Told You About

by 14-year old kid that hasn't even graduated yet

If you have no clue what the hell on Earth are you doing, nobody else will.

Or...to be more accurate:

If you don’t look like you know what you’re doing, people will suppose that you, in fact, don’t know what you're doing.

And guess what?

We see this rule all around the internet.

Those people who you look up to as experts...

...they just woke up one day, wanting to share their ideas online, and iterated their way towards success.

And again - although we see them as experts, they don't know everything.

But does this fact stop them from creating & delivering value? No.

And this is the key differentiator between the creators and consumers (or top creators & noob creators):

When you are facing Imposter Syndrome, it's a sign that you are growing behind your standards. And that's a good sign.

See?

We don't wanna get rid of it altogether.

All we want is to stop taking that little voice in our head, telling us that our ideas aren't worthy, so seriously.

Look at me:

I’m a 14-year-old kid, and on Earth, I’m not anywhere close to being an expert at anything.

And...

Imposter Syndrome was a real deal for me.

Was I constantly thinking about quitting? Hell yeah.

Did I think I was someone worth listening to? Hell no.

Did I think someone could take me seriously? Hell no.

But hey - I'm here today, talking to 700 people who trust in my writing abilities.

Not bad for someone who hasn't even graduated yet.

So if you are experiencing similar limiting beliefs...

Read on.

I'll show the way I think of coping with Imposter Syndrome today:

The Thing You Don’t Wanna Hear

As I’ve stated above:

It’s not about eliminating the Imposter Syndrome whatsoever.

It is about getting ok with the voices in your head that won't shut up.

And the best way to do that is...the one you don't want to hear.

Ready?

*drum roll*

Exposure therapy.

In other words:

Put out more content than you think is necessary and let the inner voice throw shots at you.

Let it bombard you, tell you how unqualified you are to write online. Let it tell you that you're an idiot, a piece of shit no one's ever going listen to.

Once you realize it’s only a voice, an opinion, that's when it losses its power over you.

Over time, you might even catch yourself smiling at it.

"Okie-dokie Claudia, that's pretty smart. But again: I'm not an expert in anything. What am I supposed to write about?"

Onward.

Be the guide, not the guru

Being an expert doesn’t mean knowing everything. It means being able to nurture the ones a few steps behind on their journey.

When you think of it...

The best accounts on Twitter are personal.

And most of them have probably built their brand using the simple way:

By sharing what have they learned along the way towards reaching a certain goal.

So how can you take advantage of this?

Take a sheet of paper & pen, and list out:

  • the hobbies you’ve picked up

  • the experiences that blew your mind

  • the things you’ve learned a ton about

  • problems you’ve solved

  • things you’ve failed at

  • things you’ve succeeded at

over the past year.

Write out everything - don’t judge ideas that come to your mind.

Even easier practice you can try:

Reflect on things you've consumed in the past months/weeks.

Example from me:

Lately, I’ve been keen on studying spirituality & enlightement.

And although don't know everything about the topic, I could:

  • distill lessons I learned

  • share my realizations

  • talk about the roadblocks I've entered

Or I could curate content on the topic that resonated with me.

But hey, I see you asking:

"What's the point of me sharing something that's already been said? Isn't that only adding useless noise?"

Short answer:

No.

Long answer:

The online game is a game of moving pieces.

Everything you’ve learned, the opinions you have, your view topic you've been educated on...

Did you grasp it from just 1 creator or from many?

The latter is most probably true for you.

Bits of wisdom people have shared are creating big picture in the mind of your audience.

And you never know which bit that you share is going to make something for someone click, and change their life.

Also...

Originality is overrated

We know that.

Originality is not a game of ideas - it's a game of perspective & authenticity.

And what makes your writing extra valuable is "selling" your personality as much as you can.

Being genuine & honest.

Writing about your curiosities.

Writing in a way your past self would love to read.

This is how you attract the right tribe, that won't ever doubt your expertise in a topic.

And that's what it's all about.

Don't forget:

All of these take practice.

But the practice is damn worth it at the end of the day.

To wrap it up:

  • keep putting out content (while listening to the annoying voice in your head)

  • be the guide, not the guru

  • be authentic & share anything that sparks your curiosity

I guarantee Imposter Syndrome won't be a thing for you in a few weeks.

That's it for today.

Catch you next Sunday,

— Claudia "Imposter" Stellner

P.S.: Don't forget to catch some sunlight today ;)

P.S.S.: I'd love to level up my newsletter game a bit more & deliver the best amount of value possible to you (so you can grow like crazy). You can help me out by filling out this quick survey.