The Story Of My Permissionless Pitch

đź“‹ Claudia's Digest #008

Happy Monday to all fellow outliers reading Claudia’s Digest.

I’ve already recovered from the crazy storm I started on Twitter yesterday (more on that in this week’s win), and I’m ready to start off this week with a banger newsletter for you.

Let’s take a dive ↓

If somehow you haven’t caught the news yet:

A few days ago, Ali Abdaal announced he’s looking to add a newsletter writer to his team.

And for context:

I’ve been dreaming of working for Ali ever since I was 12.

He was the person who made me start creating online and to be fair - I attribute every single good outcome in my life over the past 2 years to this very decision.

Aside from that - I know that after those 2 years of sharing my ideas & building my network online, I now have all the leverage to get the job.

So I decided to take it.

Not apply for it. TAKE it.

Over the weekend, I wrote 3 sample newsletters for Ali (instead of 1 that was required).

I also posted a “Permissionless Pitch” thread on 5 reasons he should hire me.

And lastly…

I destroyed Ali’s notifications because I made X people go crazy with the thread.

However, I didn’t get the job YET (Ali’s general manager Angus told me they’re gonna review all the applications next week).

But still, I got hundreds of people tag Ali & vouch for me in the comments and it felt surreal.

And it’s, what I believe, this week’s biggest win.

1) On How To Think About Life

Most people think in terms of “Life’s great now, but it’s all gonna wear off & bad times will come.”

But how about you replace it with “Life’s good, but it’s gonna get better”? (h/t: Noah Kagan).

Zero downside to thinking this way.

As Shaan Puri says:

Pessimists get to be right.

Optimists get to be rich.

2) Set The Bar Higher

In most things in life, the barrier to entry is quite low.

Think of it:

Anyone can start writing online.

Anyone can start a business.

Anyone can apply to work for their favorite creator.

But if you look at history’s greatest performers of any kind…

Nobody won by doing “just what it takes.”

In most cases, they all did a lot more than they were asked.

So the next time you want win at something that anyone could do…

Ask yourself: “How can I move the bar higher?”

Example with me when applying for Ali’s job:

Anyone can fill out the application form & then hope to get the job. And I believe 99% of the applicants will.

But only a few people will take the time to write 3 newsletters & write a thread on the reasons they should be hired.

As my friend Jay Yang (@Jayyanginspires) told me:

“Only enter the rat race when you can be the fastest rat.”

3) Take A Different Path

Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful.

Zig before they zag after they zag.

When everyone goes left, you go right.

Put simply:

The future rewards outliers.

“When everyone’s hiding in the corner, you have the entire car for yourself”

Paul Graham

"Don't fear failure. Not failure, but low aim, is the crime. In great attempts it is glorious even to fail."

Bruce Lee

Things I Liked This Week

  • A masterclass on how to become the type of person everyone wants to hire → Click here

  • One of the best articles on productivity I ever read → Click here

  • An hour-long chat packed with tons of eye-opening life & business advice → Click here