Why I Deleted My Bio

📋 Claudia's Digest #007

Happy Sunday to my fellow outliers reading Claudia’s Digest.

This is edition #007.

Before we dive in, some housekeeping


If someone send this to you, subscribe below:

If this email landed in into your Spam/Promotions folder, reply to this email ‘Got it’ to make sure you won’t miss them the next time.

Now onto this week’s digest.

(decided to switch up the ‘1 Win Of the Week’ with ‘Weekly Report’ where in 3-5 bullets I’ll talk about the stuff I’m doing now to give you a more transparent look into how’s my journey going. Let me know what you think of this format (:)

  • I joined The Digital Identity cohort ran by Taylin Simmonds & Dale Thomass

  • Spoke to Taylin Simmonds & Dan Goldfield on the call

  • Got followed by Nathan Baugh on Twitter

  • Finally starting writing the sales page for a client

1) On Titles vs Actions

Anyone remembers how my Twitter bio looked like a few weeks ago?

Hint:

There has been a lot of text.

But a few days ago, I deleted almost everything from it, except the link from my newsletter.

Why?

I feel like these days, almost any social media bio you’ll see these days contains something like this:

“Volleyball player turned Writer”

“17-year-old copywriter”

“Lonely solopreneur”

The problem is


Anyone can call themselves that way.

Literally anyone.

Even if you’re in your 30s, living with your mom, you can come up with a label that’ll make you look “interesting.”

And that’s why I don’t want a bio based on who I ‘think’ I am.

I want a bio based on what I have done.

I want the hard work to speak for myself.

Titles are rejected. People are indifferent to titles because they’re cheap to earn.

Actions are rewarded. People cheris actions & achivements because no one can replace the work you’ve done.

2) On Clear Thinking

The reason why so many of the world’s most succesful entrepreneurs, founders or investors are great writers?

They’re not great writers. They’re clear thinkers in disguise.

Great writing is a byproduct of clear thinking, because it gives you the ability to simply any idea down to it’s essence.

And what can make ideas more sticky and/or catchy than siplification?

(remember that most lines that changed the word were 3 words or less, like “Think Different” or “Just Do It”.)

So the next time you’ll be writing your piece ask yourself: How can I simplify this idea down to its essence?

3) On Immersion Into Your Work

“The working artist will not tolerate trouble in her life because she knows trouble prevents her from doing her work. The working artist banishes her world all sources of trouble. She harnesses the urge for trouble and transforms it in her work.”

Steven Pressfield, War of Art

Want a pill to cure all of your life’s problems?

Pick a mission that’s as important to you as breathing, and start working.

"One of the greatest traits an entrepreneur can have is to disagree with people who are okay with the status quo."

Anthony Pompliano

Alright, that’s it for this week’s edition.

Let me know your thoughts on this email by hitting the reply button (I reply to every email - not always immediately, but I always do).

Have a great week ahead,

– Claudia

Things I Liked This Week

  • Derek Sivers & David Perell ping-ponging their takes & thoughts on writing → Click here

  • The War of Art by Steven Pressfield (book) → Click here

  • ‘How A Grey Shirt Built Zuckerberg To Billions’ (the humour & the prolific design of this newsletter are fucking insane) → Click here